Johann Adolph  HASSE

IL RE PASTORE

Drama per musica (Warsaw 1762)

 

Opera production for 2023

ROLES

(an aria appears when you click on the name)

Alessandro , King of Macedonia.

Altus (g di passaggio) Altus clef, 2 arias

1755  Pasquale Bruscolini  

Aminta , shepherd, later than  Abdolonimo , recognized as the only legitimate heir of the Kingdom of Sidon, was Elisha's lover

High countertenor (up to g and a di passagio) or mezzo-soprano, soprano clef, 4 arias, 1 duet, 1 quartet

1755- Angelo Maria Monticelli

Elisha , noble virgin as the old lineage of  Cadmus , beloved Aminta

Soprano, soprano clef, 3 arias, 1 duet, 1 quartet

1755 Teresa Albuzzi Todeschini.

Tamiri , escaped princess in shepherd's clothes, daughter of the tyrant  Stratone , beloved Agenores

Soprano (lyric up to C), soprano clef, 3 arias, 1 quartet

1755- Catarina Pilaja

Agenore , Sidon nobleman, friend of Alexander, lover of Tamiris

High soprano (up to C) soprano (possibly high tenor?)

Soprano clef, 3 arias, 1 quartet

1755- Giuseppe Belli

Johann Adolph Hasse (1699-1783), il "divino Sassone" (the divine Saxon), as he was called in his time in Italy, was particularly successful in the Baroque period. Numerous operas by the composer were premiered all over Europe, in Vienna, in Naples, in Venice and above all in Dresden by Augustus the Strong and his son August III, King of Poland. With our project "GIOVE IN ARGO" by Antonio Lotti we were able to learn something about the art- patronage of this ruler. He loved the culture, the architecture and above all the musical theater. Johann Adolph Hasse was his favorite composer and his court composer.

 

On the other hand, Antonio Bioni's "ISSIPILE" experience brought us into contact with another very important artist in European history: Pietro Metastasio , the famous librettist. The preference for the Greco-Roman theme, but above all the extraordinary beauty of the dramaturgy and the language, definitely based on classical models, is, in our opinion, partly responsible for the outbreak of the classics that soon emerged from the baroque era in Europe. Metastasio was "best friend" with Hasse.

 

So our next opera project will combine these two elements from earlier productions: The Polish-Saxon cultural heritage August III with Hasse's music and the classical Metastasio's texts.

 

IL RE PASTORE is a libretto better known because of the Mozart-opera . This important representative of Viennese classical music wrote the opera in 1775 (21 years old). Before him, however, Johann Richter from Dresden wrote his only opera on this libretto in 1750, Giuseppe Bono (Vienna, 1751), Hasse (1755) and Gluck (1757). Hasse's "Il re pastore" was premiered in the Hubertusburg Palace (October 7, 1755),  Seat of August III. in his private theater. Many of Hasse's operas premiered there. But August III. also lived in Warsaw. The 2nd version of the opera was performed again in Warsaw in 1762. The two versions are bit different.

The theme of the opera is based on Greek mythology and history: it is about a ruler in Sidon (today in Lebanon) in the times of Alexander the Great, who was initially a shepherd, and one day he will be offered to become king on condition that he will give up his love : but he disagrees. In this way he proves that he is mature to be a real and good ruler!

This material is currently in the SLUB (Saxon State and University Library) and is being transcribed into modern script with the help of the musicologist François Hou (https://ilsassone.wordpress.com).  

 

At the same time we are looking for places to rehearse the project and carry out the world premiere. The aim is of course two performances: one in the Royal Theater in the Museum Łazienki in Warsaw and then also in Saxony ( Hubertusburg Castle ), where we would like to experiment with new concepts for a "concerante" performance.

 

calendar

By June 2022: contacts to venues, partnerships, funding.

July 2022: Completion of an edition of the score.

July 2022.  Invitation to auditions for young singers and musicians for the Lausitz Baroque Ensemble. Tender for a direction concept.

September 2022. Audition

October 2022-December 2022. Musical work with singers and musicians.

2023: Rehearsals and premieres, further performances.

Sound recording. Filming. Documentation.

Johann Adolph HASSE

IL RE PASTORE

Drama per musica (Warschau 1762)

 

Opernproduktion für das Jahr 2023

ROLLEN

(beim Klicken auf den Namen erscheint eine Arie)

Alessandro, König von Mazedonien.

Altus (g di passaggio) Altus-Schlüssel, 2 Arien

1755 Pasquale Bruscolini 

Aminta, Schäfer, später als Abdolonimo, der einzige rechtmäßige Erbe des Königreichs Sidon erkannt, Geliebter Elisas

Hoher Countertenor (bis g und a di passagio) oder Mezzosopran, Sopran-Schlüssel, 4 Arien, 1 Duett, 1 Quartett

1755- Angelo Maria Monticelli

Elisa, adelige Jungfrau als dem alten Geschlecht des Cadmus, Geliebte Amintas

Sopran, Sopran-Schlüssel, 3 Arien, 1 Duett, 1 Quartett

1755 Teresa Albuzzi Todeschini.

Tamiri, geflohene Prinzessin in Schäferkleidung, Tochter des Tyrannen Stratone, Geliebte Agenores

Sopran (lyrisch bis C), Sopran-Schlüssel, 3 Arien, 1 Quartett

1755- Catarina Pilaja

Agenore, sidonischer Edelmann, Freund Alexanders, Geliebter Tamiris

Hoher Sopran (bis C) Sopranist (ev.hohe Tenor?)

Sopran-Schlüssel, 3 Arien, 1 Quartett

1755-Giuseppe Belli

Johann Adolph Hasse (1699-1783), il "divino Sassone" (der göttliche Sachse), wie er zu seiner Zeit in Italien genannt wurde, war besonders erfolgreich in der Barockzeit. Zahlreiche Opern des Komponisten wurden in ganz Europa, in Wien, in Neapel, in Venedig und vor allem in Dresden Augusts des Starken und seines Sohnes August III., König von Polen, uraufgeführt. Bei unserem Projekt "GIOVE IN ARGO" von Antonio Lotti konnten wir etwas über das Mäzenatentum dieses Herrschers erfahren. Er liebte die Kultur, die Architektur und vor allem das Musiktheater. Johann Adolph Hasse war sein Lieblingskomponist und sein Hofkomponist.

 

Andererseits brachte uns Antonio Bionis "ISSIPILE"-Erfahrung in Kontakt mit einem anderen sehr wichtigen Künstler der europäischen Geschichte: Pietro Metastasio, dem berühmten Librettisten. Die Vorliebe für das griechisch-römische Thema, aber vor allem die außergewöhnliche Schönheit der Dramaturgie und der Sprache vorbereite Europa für die Klassik, die bald aus der Barockzeit hervorgegangen in Europa herrschen würde. Metastasio war ausserdem mit Hasse "bester Freund".

 

Unser nächstes Opernprojekt wird also diese beiden Elemente früherer Produktionen kombinieren: Das polnisch-sächsische Kulturerbe August III mit Hasses Musik und die Klassik der Texte von Metastasio.

 

IL RE PASTORE, ist ein Libretto bereits von Mozart bekannt. Der bedeutende Vertreter der Wiener Klassik schrieb die Oper 1775 (21 Jahre alt). Vor ihm jedoch hat schon der Dresdner Johann Richter im Jahr 1750 seine einzige Oper auf diesem Libretto geschrieben, Giuseppe Bono (Wien, 1751), Hasse (1755) und Gluck (1757). Hasses "Il re pastore" wurde im Schloss Hubertusburg (7. Oktober 1755),  Sitz Augusts III. in seinem Privattheater, uraufgeführt. Viele von Hasses Opern wurden dort uraufgeführt. Aber August III. lebte auch in Warschau. So wurde die 2. Fassung der Oper in Warschau im Jahr 1762 nochmals aufgeführt. Die zwei Fassungen sind sehr unterschiedlich.

Das Thema der Oper basiert in der griechischen Mythologie und Geschichte: es geht um einen Herrscher in Sidon (Libanon) in Zeiten Alexanders des Großen, der anfangs Hirte, eines Tages wird ihm angeboten König zu werden, unter der Bedingung seine Liebe dafür aufzugeben, womit er nicht einverstanden ist. In dieser Weise beweist er dass er reif ist, ein echte und gute Herrscher zu sein!

Dieses Material befindet sich derzeit in der SLUB (Sächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek) und wird mit Hilfe des Musikwissenschaftlers François Hou (https://ilsassone.wordpress.com) in moderne Schrift transkribiert. 

 

Gleichzeitig suchen wir Orte, um das Projekt zu proben und die Uraufführung durchzuführen. Ziel sind natürlich zwei Aufführungen: eine im Königlichen Theater im Museum Łazienki in Warschau und dann auch in Sachsen (Schloss Hubertusburg), wo wir mit neuen Konzepten für eine konzertante Aufführung experimentieren möchten.

 

Kalender

Bis Juni 2022: Kontakte zu Spielstätten, Partnerschaften, Förderung.

Juli 2022: Fertigstellung einer Edition der Partitur.

Juli 2022. Einladung zum Vorsingen junger Sänger und Musiker für das Lausitzer Barockensemble. Ausschreibung für ein Regiekonzept.

September 2022. Vorsingen

Oktober 2022-Dezember 2022. Musikalische Arbeit mit Sänger und Musiker.

2023: Proben und Premiere, weitere Aufführungen.

Tonaufnahme. Verfilmung. Dokumentation.