Opera productions

Treasures from the region's cultural heritage

Ars Augusta eV is based in the European city of Görlitz-Zgorzelec, between Poland and Germany and in a European cultural region with a rich past: Bohemia, Silesia and, above all, Saxony. Much of these treasures from the Renaissance and Baroque periods, but also from the 19th and 20th centuries, have been lost or forgotten. In the past few years we have had the pleasure of rediscovering some of these operas and the journey continues:

ACADEMIA - _Giove in Argo_ Görlitz.jpg

Antonio Lottie  |  GIOVE IN ARGO

The first performance of the opera took place in 2019 (300 years after the premiere during the Planetary Festival (Dresden 1719) in the Theater "Henryk Wieniawski" in Szczawno Zdrój in Polen and in the Palais im Großer Garten in Dresden (September 2019). The opera was performed again in 2020 in Gerhart Hauptmann Theater, sponsored by Mitteldeutsche Barockmusik eV, Kaufhaus Görlitz, Sparkasse Oberlausitz-Lower Silesia.  More:

Bildschirmfoto 2022-01-10 um 16.49.56.png

Antonio Bioni  |  ISSIPILE

The first performance in modern times of the opera in three acts "Issipile" (libretto: Pietro Metastasio) by the Venetian Antonio Bioni (1698-1741), court composer of the opera in Wroclaw, took place in 2021 in collaboration with the opera in the castle of Szczecin. Eleni Ioannidou is responsible for transcribing the score from the archive of the Association of Friends of Music in Vienna and selecting the artists.  The opera was filmed in Willa Lentz in Stettin. The project was mainly funded by the Polish Ministry of Culture. More:

MarieWandmalerei7.png

Max Marshall  |  THE IMPERIAL

The mono-act by Max Marschalk (1863-1940) "Das Wichtelchen" was written in 1900 and combines the elements of naturalism and fairytale theater. It is the first and only performance of a work by the composer from among the brothers Carl and Gerhart Hauptmann. The opera was performed and filmed with piano accompaniment in the Gerhart-Hauptmann-Haus Municipal Museum in the Giant Mountains. The project was funded by the representative for culture and media in the Silesian Museum in Görlitz (cultural department for Silesia).

Bildschirmfoto 2022-05-14 um 17.26.18.png
current project

Johann Christoph Richter & JA Hasse 
IL RE PASTORE

In search of material that could promote cultural understanding in the region, we discovered two settings of Metastasio's libretto "il Re  Pastore": one by JAHasse premiered in Hubertusburg 1955 and Warsaw 1762. In the same year the unknown Dresden composer Johann Christoph Richter wrote the same opera in German.  Supported by the Performing Arts Fund from funds provided by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of NEUSTART KULTUR , we are studying Richter's opera. As part of a workshop for young musicians, we will present scenes from the opera in September.  Project funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media based on a resolution of the German Bundestag

OPERNPRODUKTIONEN

Schätze aus dem Kulturerbe der Region

Ars Augusta e.V. hat ihren Sitz in der Europastadt Görlitz-Zgorzelec, zwischen Polen und Deutschland und in einer Kulturregion Europas mit reichen Vergangenheit: Böhmen, Schlesien und vor allem Sachsen. Vieles dieser Schätze aus der Zeit der Renaissance, des Barocks aber auch aus dem 19. und 20Jh ging verloren oder vergessen. Wir hatten in den vergangen Jahren die Freude einige von diesen Opern wiederentdecken zu können und die Reise geht weiter:

ACADEMIA - _Giove in Argo_ Görlitz.jpg

Antonio Lotti  |  GIOVE IN ARGO

Die Erstaufführung der Oper fand im Jahr 2019, 300 Jahren nach der Premiere während der Planetenfeste (Dresden 1719) im Kurtheater "Henryk Wieniawski" in Bad Salzbrunn und im Palais im großen Garten in Dresden (September 2019). Die Oper wurde im Jahr 2020 im Gerhart Hauptmann Theater wieder aufgeführt. Gefördert von Mitteldeutsche Barockmusik e.V., Kaufhaus Görlitz, Sparkasse Oberlausitz-Niederschlesien.  Mehr:

Bildschirmfoto 2022-01-10 um 16.49.56.png

Antonio Bioni  |  ISSIPILE

Die Erstaufführung in modernen Zeiten der Oper in drei Akten "Issipile" (Libretto: Pietro Metastasio) des Venezianers Antonio Bioni (1698-1741), Hofkomponisten der Oper in Breslau, hat im Jahr 2021 stattgefunden in Zusammenarbeit mit der Oper im Schloss von Stettin. Die Transkription der Partitur aus dem Archiv de Vereins der Freunde der Musik in Wien sowie die Auswahl der Künstler hat Eleni Ioannidou zu verantworten.  Die Oper wurde in Willa Lentz in Stettin verfilmt. Gefördert wurde das Projekt vor allem über das polnische Ministerium für Kultur. Mehr:

MarieWandmalerei7.png

Max Marschalk  |  DAS WICHTELCHEN

Der Monoakter von Max Marschalk (1863-1940) "Das Wichtelchen" wurde im Jahr 1900 geschrieben und verbindet die Elemente des Naturalismus und Märchentheater. Es ist die erste und einzige Aufführung eines Werkes des Komponisten aus dem Kreis der Gebrüder Carl und Gerhart Hauptmann. Die Oper wurde mit Klavierbegleitung im Städtischen Museum Gerhart-Hauptmann-Haus im Riesengebirge aufgeführt, verfilmt. Das Projekt wurde gefördert durch die Beauftragte für Kultur und Medien im Schlesischen Museum zu Görlitz (Kulturreferat für Schlesien).

Bildschirmfoto 2022-05-14 um 17.26.18.png
aktuelles projekt

Johann Christoph Richter & J. A. Hasse 
IL RE PASTORE

Auf der Suche nach Material das die kulturelle Verständigung in der Region fördern könnte, entdeckten wir zwei Vertonungen des Libretto Metastasios "il Re Pastore": eine von J.A.Hasse uraufgeführt in Hubertusburg 1955 und Warschau 1762. Im selben Jahr schrieb der unbekannte Dresdner Komponist Johann Christoph Richter dieselbe Oper auf deutsch.  Gefördert vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR , studieren wir die Oper von Richter. Im Rahmen eines Workshops für junge Musiker, stellen wir im September Szenen aus der Oper auf.  Projekt, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages