workshop
for baroque musicians and
  Singers

"EXPERIENCE SAXONY BAROQUE TOGETHER"

Rehearsal of scenes from the opera "Il re pastore" by J.Ch.Richter and JAHasse

18-23 September 2022

Königshain, Saxony, Germany

Lecturer: Raphael Alpermann

Stage workshop: Eleni Ioannidou

raphael_alpermann_c_irene_zandel_-1.jpg
Lecturer: Raphael Alpermann

 

Raphael Alpermann studied piano at the Hanns Eisler Music Academy in Berlin and also took lessons in the harpsichord with Gustav Leonhardt and Ton Koopman.

He has been a member of the Academy for Early Music since it was founded in 1982. He can be heard as a soloist in many of the ensemble's recordings and concerts.

In 1995 he made his debut with the Berlin Philharmonic with a concerto by Bach and since then he has been a frequent guest of this orchestra and other well-known ensembles. He has worked with conductors such as Claudio Abbado, Simon Rattle and Nikolaus Harnoncourt. Concert tours have taken him to many of the most important concert halls on five continents. He has played well over 100 CDs in a wide variety of formations. Raphael Alpermann teaches at the Berlin Academy of Music Hanns Eisler and gives courses in the subjects harpsichord and chamber music.

General

The Ars Augusta eV association has been organizing academic music projects since 2019 to study baroque opera from the cultural heritage of our region, Saxony and Silesia. In 2019, for example, Antonio Lotti's opera "Giove in Argo" was premiered in the Kurtheater Bad Salzbrunn (Szczawno Zdroj in Poland) and in the Palais im Grossen Garten in Dresden after 300 years. Antonio Bioni's opera "Issipile" also followed as a premiere in modern times in 2021 as a film production of the "Oper im Schloss" in Szczecin.

In 2022 we would like to organize another one-week workshop for singers and baroque musicians as part of the German Music Council's "Country Music" project, this time in Königshain Castle near Görlitz. The theme is two operas from the musical heritage of Dresden-Warsaw based on the libretto by Metastasio "Il re pastore": the opera by Johann Chr. Richter in German and the opera of the same name by Johann Adolf Hasse in Italian. Both date from 1762 and have never been performed before.

The selected artists will rehearse scenes from the opera between September 18th and 23rd and perform them semi-staged on September 23rd. The lecturer is a renowned harpsichordist and founding member of the "Akademie für Alte Musik - Berlin", Mr. Raphael Alpermann. The opera singer and chairwoman of Ars Augusta eV, Eleni Ioannidou, takes over the artistic direction and the scenic work with the actors.

 

IL RE PASTORE​

Drama per musica

Libretto: Pietro Metastasio

MUSIC

Johann Christoph Richter (Dresden 1700-1785)

Dresden 1762 in German

First performance in modern times

Johann Adolf Hasse (Bergerdorf 1699-Venice 1783)

Warsaw 1762 in Italian

First performance in modern times

PARTICIPATING MUSICIANS

ensemble

baroque violin

baroque viola

baroque cello

harpsichord

double bass

Transverse flute

french horn

Singers

AMYNT (AMINTA)

Countertenor Altus (Richter) or

mezzo-soprano (Hasse)

ELISA:

soprano

TAMIRIS (TAMIRI)

soprano

AGENOR (AGENOR)

Countertenor Soprano/Mezzosoprano (Richter)

High Soprano (Hasse)

ALEXANDER (ALESSANDRO)

Countertenor Soprano (Richter)

Altus (Hasse)

or tenor

WORKING MATERIAL (sheet music & midi)
 
Libretto
 
Programm

Sinfonia (J.Ch.Richter)

Akt 1

"Alla selva, al prato, al fonte" 1.4. Aria di Elisa (J.A.Hasse)

"So che pastor son io" 1.6. Aria di Aminta (J.A.Hasse)

"So machet eine Wolke sich" 1.8. Arie von Alexander (J.Ch.Richter)

"Ihr allerliebsten schönen Augen" 1.10. Arie von Agenor (J.Ch.Richter)

"Di tante sue procelle" 1.12 Aria di Tamiris (J.A.Hasse)

Akt 2

"Barbar, ich bin wie dir bekennt" 1.18. Arie von Elisa (J.Ch.Richter)

"Ah, per voi la pianta umile" 1.22 Aria di Aminta (J.A.Hasse)

PAUSE

"Ach du bist ja nicht" 1.26. Quartett (J.Ch.Richter)

Akt 3

"Armelges Herz / Von dergleichen herben Plagen" 1.33-34 Arie von Agenor (J.Ch.Richter)

"Sol può dir come si trova" 1.34 Aria di Agenore (J.A.Hasse)

"Ihr Götter, die ihr mir zu Ehren" 1.35. Arie von Alexander (J.Ch.Richter)

"Dalla selva e dal´ovile" 1.37. Coro finale (J.

Arbeitsmaterial
 
 
Conditions of Participation
General

The workshop will take place from September 18th to 23rd, 2022 in Königshain near Görlitz. The participants will arrive on September 17th and depart on September 24th.

Before the workshop starts in September, 4 online group meetings (around 1-2 hours each) are planned for the selected singers (and eventually the instrumentalists) during the summer to discuss the opera, the history behind, the libretto, the dramaturgical concept and the pronunciation of the text -German and Italian- with the artistic leader of the project.

The musical and stage work begin on Sunday 18 September. On September 23, the final concert will take place in Königshain Castle with scenes from the opera "Il re pastore" by Johann Christian Richter, in semi-staged form, alternating with some arias from the opera by Johann Adolf Hasse. The instruments "traverso flute" and "French horn" only stay for two days on September 22-24. part (2 nights).

Lecturer: Raphael Alpermann, Academy for Early Music, Berlin

After completing the workshop, the musicians receive a diploma and within a month a portfolio with video, audio and photos from the performance. By participating in the workshop, the musicians accept the use of audiovisual material for the purpose of documenting the project by the Ars Augusta eV society.

Participants

The workshop is open to baroque musicians (violin, viola, cello, harpsichord, double bass, transverse flute, French horn) and singers (countertenor altus, countertenor soprano, mezzo-soprano, soprano, tenor and baritone) aged 18-35. The tuning of the ensemble is 415 Hz .

In the “Violin” category in particular, a concertmaster is selected to lead the ensemble and receives a special honorary for this.

Registration

Participants must submit the following documents (in German or English, per E-mail to arsaugusta@gmail.com) by 10 June, 2022 (11:59 p.m.):

a. Registration for the workshop is via the Formular on this page. If the "CV" field is not sufficient:

b. Possibly an extra artistic CV

c. A photo (.jpg or .png format, no less than 200 KB)

e. Demo of two pieces of music from the Baroque period, or Mozart, Gluck, Haydn (1650-1800): video (link to a video, no video files please) or audio (mp3).

The singers selected in the first phase will rehearse an aria from the opera by Richter or Hasse in a second phase and submit another demo by June 30th. We will provide the sheet music and a midi audio file to the singers.

Costs

The participation in the workshop and the accommodation in Königshain are free of charge for the musicians.

The musicians alone cover their own travel expenses to Königshain and their meals during the workshop.

Musicians stay in the "Windmühlenhof" holiday apartments in the Obelausitz countryside in rooms for 1-2 people per room. Cooking and making music are allowed in the apartments.

Honoraries 

For participation in the project, a honorary is provided for the musicians and singers.

For the baroque violin playing the role of concertmaster  takes over, the musician receives a special honorary for this.

Future perspectives

The best singers will be engaged in a production of the opera in the 2023/24 season at the Gerhart Hauptmann Theater in Görlitz.

The best instrumentalists will be contracted in the next concerts of the Lausitzer Barockensemble and in solo chamber concerts of the Ars Augusta eV and will play well-known works of baroque music at monuments in the region as soloists or in an ensemble, as well as the opportunity to realize professional sound recordings in the association. The chosen concertmaster may conduct future operas of the society Ars Augusta.

The project is funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media based on a resolution of the German Bundestag. It is part of the "Country Music" funding program of the German Music Council.

 
SponsorS
BKM_Fz_2017_Office_Farbe_de.png
DMR_Landmusik-Logo_Farbe_Blau_RGB.png
kAUFHAUS lOGO.jpeg

workshop für Barockmusiker und Sänger

"SACHSENS BAROCK GEMEINSAM ERLEBEN"

Einstudierung von Szenen aus der Oper "Il re pastore" von J.Ch.Richter und J.A.Hasse

Dozent: Raphael Alpermann

raphael_alpermann_c_irene_zandel_-1.jpg
Dozent: Raphael Alpermann

 

Raphael Alpermann studierte an der Berliner Musikhochschule Hanns Eisler Klavier und nahm darüber hinaus Unterricht im Fach Cembalo bei Gustav Leonhardt und Ton Koopman.

Er gehört der Akademie für Alte Musik seit ihrer Gründung 1982 an. Bei vielen Aufnahmen und Konzerten des Ensembles ist er als Solist zu hören.

1995 debütierte er bei den Berliner Philharmonikern mit einem Konzert von Bach und ist seither immer wieder Gast dieses Orchesters sowie anderer namhafter Ensembles. Er arbeitete mit Dirigenten wie Claudio Abbado, Simon Rattle und Nikolaus Harnoncourt zusammen. Konzertreisen führten ihn in viele der bedeutendsten Konzertsäle auf fünf Kontinenten. Er spielte in verschiedensten Besetzungen weit über 100 CDs ein. Raphael Alpermann unterrichtet an der Berliner Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler und gibt Kurse in den Fächern Cembalo und Kammermusik.

Allgemein

Der Verein Ars Augusta e.V. organisiert seit 2019 akademische Musikprojekte um barocke Oper aus dem kulturellen Erbe unserer Region, Sachsen und Schlesien, einzustudieren. 2019 wurde beispielsweise Antonio Lottis Oper „Giove in Argo“ im Kurtheater Bad Salzbrunn (Szczawno Zdroj in Polen) und im Palais im Großen Garten in Dresden nach 300 Jahren quasi uraufgeführt. Ebenso als Premiere in modernen Zeiten im Jahr 2021 folgte Antonio Bionis Oper „Issipile“ als Filmproduktion der "Oper im Schloss" in Stettin.

Im Jahr 2022 möchten wir im Rahmen des Projekts „Landmusik“ des Deutschen Musikrates wieder einen einwöchigen Workshop für Sänger und Sängerinnen, Barockmusiker - Musikerinnen veranstalten, diesmal im Schloss Königshain bei Görlitz. Thema sind zwei Opern aus dem Musikerbe von Dresden-Warschau nach dem Libretto von Metastasio „Il re pastore“: die Oper von Johann Chr. Richter auf deutsch und die gleichnamige Oper vonJohann Adolf Hasse auf italienisch. Beide stammen aus dem Jahr 1762 und wurden nie zuvor aufgeführt.

Die ausgewählten Künstler und Künstlerinnen werden zwischen dem 18. und 23. September Szenen aus der Oper einstudieren und und am 23. September halbszenisch aufführen. Der Dozent ist renommierter Cembalist und Gründungsmitglied der "Akademie für Alte Musik - Berlin", Herr Raphael Alpermann. Die Opernsängerin und Vorsitzende von Ars Augusta e.V., Eleni Ioannidou, übernimmt die künstlerische Leitung und die szenische Arbeit mit den Darstellern.

 

IL RE PASTORE​

Drama per musica

Libretto: Pietro Metastasio

MUSIK

Johann Christoph Richter (Dresden 1700-1785)

Dresden 1762 auf deutsch

Erstaufführung in modernen Zeiten

Johann Adolf Hasse (Bergerdorf 1699-Venedig 1783)

Warschau 1762 auf italienisch

Erstaufführung in modernen Zeiten

TEILNEHMENDE MUSIKER

Ensemble

Barockvioline

Barockviola

Barockcello

Cembalo

Kontrabass

Traverso Flöte (nur 22-23.9.)

Waldhorn (nur 22-23.9.)

SängerInnen

AMYNT (AMINTA)

Countertenor Altus oder

Mezzosopran oder Bariton

ELISA:

Sopran

TAMIRIS (TAMIRI)

Sopran

AGENOR (AGENORE)

Countertenor Cantus (Soprano) oder

Sopran oder Tenor

ALEXANDER (ALESSANDRO)

Countertenor Soprano or

Tenor

 
 
Teilnahmebedingungen
Allgemein

Der Workshop findet vom 18. bis 23. September 2022 in Königshain bei Görlitz statt. Die Teilnehmer werden am 17. September ankommen und am 24. September abreisen.

Bevor der Workshop im September beginnt, sind im Sommer 4 Online-Gruppentreffen (je ca. 1-2 Stunden) für die ausgewählten Sänger (und eventuell die Instrumentalisten) geplant, um die Oper, die Geschichte dahinter, das Libretto, das dramaturgische Konzept und die Aussprache des Textes – Deutsch und Italienisch – mit der künstlerischen Leiterin des Projekts zu besprechen.

Die Musik- und Bühnenarbeit beginnt am Sonntag, den 18. September.

Am 23. September findet im Schloss Königshain das Abschlusskonzert statt, mit Szenen aus der Oper „Il re pastore“ von Johann Christian Richter, in halbszenischer Form im Wechsel mit einigen Arien aus der Oper von Johann Adolf Hasse. Die Musiker mit Instrumenten „Traversoflöte“ und „Waldhorn“ kommen nur an zwei Tagen am 22.-24.9. Teil (2 Nächte).

Dozent: Raphael Alpermann, Akademie für Alte Musik, Berlin

Nach Abschluss des Workshops erhalten die MusikerInnen ein Diplom und innerhalb eines Monats ein Portfolio mit Video, Audio und Fotos von der Aufführung. Mit der Registrierung zum Workshop akzeptieren die Musiker die Verwendung von audiovisuellem Material zum Zwecke der Dokumentation des Projekts durch den Verein Ars Augusta e.V..

Teilnehmer

Der Workshop ist offen für Barockmusiker (Violine, Viola, Cello, Cembalo, Kontrabass, Traversflöte, Waldhorn) und Sänger (Countertenor Altus, Countertenor Sopran, Mezzosopran, Sopran und Tenor) im Alter zwischen 18-35 Jahren.

Die Stimmung des Ensemble-Instrumente ist 415 Hz.

Insbesondere in der Kategorie „Violine“ wird ein Konzertmeister für die Leitung des Ensembles ausgewählt und erhält dafür ein gesondertes Honorar.

Anmeldung

Die Teilnehmer müssen bis zum 30.Mai 2022 (23:59 Uhr) folgende Unterlagen (auf Deutsch oder Englisch) einreichen:

a. Eine Anmeldung zum Workshop erfolgt über das Formular auf dieser Seite. Wenn das Feld "Lebenslauf" nicht ausreicht:

b. Eventuell einen extra künstlerischen Lebenslauf

c. Ein Foto (Formate .jpg oder .png, Auslösung nicht weniger als 200 KB)

e. Demo von zwei Musikstücken aus der Barockzeit, oder Mozart, Gluck, Haydn (1650-1800): Video (Link zu einem Video, bitte keine Videodateien) oder Audio (mp3).

Die in der ersten Phase ausgewählten Sänger werden in einer zweiten Phase eine Arie aus der Oper von Richter oder Hasse einstudieren und bis zum 30. Juni ein weiteres Demo einreichen. Die Noten und eine Midi-Audiodatei werden wir zu Verfügung stellen.

Kosten

Die Teilnahme am Workshop und die Unterkunft in Königshain sind für die Musiker kostenlos.

Die Musiker übernehmen allein ihre Reisekosten nach Königshain und ihre Verpflegung während des Workshops.

Übernachtet wird in den Ferienwohnungen "Windmühlenhof" in der Obelausitzer Landschaft in Zimmern für 1-2 Personen. Kochen und Musizieren sind in den Wohnungen erlaubt.

Honorare

Für die Teilnahme an dem Projekt ist ein Honorar für die Musiker und Sänger vorgesehen.

Für den Barockviolinisten, die für Rolle des Konzertmeisters ausgewählt wird, ist ein gesondertes Honorar vorgesehen.

Perspektiven

Die besten Sängerinnen und Sänger erhalten ein Engagement in einer eventuellen Inszenierung der Oper in der Spielzeit 2023/24 im Gerhart Hauptmann Theater in Görlitz.

Die besten Instrumentalisten erhalten die Gelegenheit bei kommenden Konzerten des Lausitzer Barockensembles, veranstaltet durch den verein Ars Augusta e.V. an Denkmälern der Region als Solisten oder im Ensemble zu spielen, sowie die Möglichkeit professionelle Tonaufnahmen im Verein zu realisieren.

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages. Es ist Teil des Förderprogramms „Landmusik“ des Deutschen Musikrates.

 

Registrierung

arrow&v
 
Förderer
BKM_Fz_2017_Office_Farbe_de.png
DMR_Landmusik-Logo_Farbe_Blau_RGB.png
kAUFHAUS lOGO.jpeg