European Heritage

SONG OF HELLAS

A project under the  Patronage and sponsored by the  committee  "Greece 2021 - 200 years after the revolution".

The importance and influence of Greek heritage in European history is undeniable. Most important, however, is the influence of Greek ideals on European art, thought and architecture. Greek mythology, philosophy and ideals such as democracy inspired European humanism, the Renaissance and Enlightenment, the Classical and also the Romantic periods.

Many were the artists who "sang about" Hellas in literature, painting or sculpture: from Goethe, Schiller, Hölderlin or Hugo, Percy Shelley to Lord Byron, Delacroix, Géricault, Canova and others.

Above all, however, it was the musicians who paid homage to the land of Orpheus, Sappho and Apollos.

SONG OF HELLAS is a project that we conceived in 2021, aware that European philhellenism in art played a major role in the liberation of Greece. The poems and Greek songs played an enormous role, especially in the German-speaking region of Romanticism, not only in inspiring many young people to actively participate in the fight against the Ottomans, but above all in inspiring the rulers to support the small people in their fight for freedom.

Franz Schubert is of particular importance in the collection of Hellas songs. He has written more than 30 songs on Greek mythology: poems by Goethe and Schiller, but also by Johann Mayrhofer and others.

On a separate website www.songofhellas.org we collect all songs written since 1800 inspired by Greek culture and ideals. In addition to Schubert, Brahms, Wolf, Hochberg, Nowowiejski these include many French composers such as Debussy, Hahn and Ravel, to modernity ans Wolfgang Rihm and the Canadian female composer Jean Coulthard.

Most of the artists playing in the project are selected participants of the First International Singing Competition "Bolko von Hochberg".

The project was funded by the Grece2021 Committee - 200 years after the revolution.

European Heritage

SONG OF HELLAS

Ein Projekt unter der Schirmherrschaft und gefördert durch das Komitee "Greece 2021 - 200 years after the revolution".

Die Bedeutung und der Einfluss des griechischen Kulturerbes für die europäische Geschichte sind unbestreitbar. Am wichtigsten ist jedoch der Einfluss der griechischen Ideale auf die europäische Kunst, das Denken und die Architektur. Die Griechische Mythologie, Philosophie und Ideale wie Demokratie haben den europäischen Humanismus, die Renaissance und Aufklärung, die Klassik und auch die Romantik inspiriert.

Viele waren die Künstler, die Hellas in Literatur, Malerei oder Bildhauerei „besungen“ haben: von Goethe, Schiller, Hölderlin oder Hugo, Percy Shelley oder Lord Byron, Delacroix, Géricault, Canova und anderen.

Vor allem aber waren es die Musiker, die dem Land von Orpheus, Sappho und Apollos huldigten.

SONG OF HELLAS ist ein Projekt, das wir 2021 konzipiert haben, im Bewusstsein, dass gerade der europäische Philhellenismus in der Kunst eine große Rolle bei der Befreiung Griechenlands gespielt hat. Die Gedichte und griechischen Lieder spielten insbesondere im deutschsprachigen Raum der Romantik eine enorme Rolle dabei, nicht nur viele junge Menschen zur aktiven Teilnahme am Kampf gegen die Osmanen zu inspirieren, sondern vor allem auch die Herrscher dazu zu inspirieren, das kleine Volk in derer Kampf für die Freiheit zu unterstützen.

Franz Schubert kommt in der Sammlung der Hellas-Lieder eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Er hat mehr als 30 Lieder mit Thema die griechische Mythologie geschrieben: Gedichte von Goethe und Schiller, aber auch von Johann Mayrhofer und anderen.

Auf einer separaten Website www.songofhellas.org sammeln wir alle Lieder, die seit 1800 geschrieben wurden und von der griechischen Kultur und Idealen inspiriert sind. Dazu gehören neben Schubert, Brahms, Wolf, Hochberg, Nowowiejski auch viele französische Komponisten wie Debussy, Hahn und Ravel, bis hin zu Wolfgang Rihm und die kanadische Komponistin Jean Coulthard.

Die meisten der spielenden im Projekt Künstler sind ausgewählte Teilnehmer des Ersten Internationalen Gesangswettbewerbs „Bolko von Hochberg“.

Gefördert wurde das Projekt vom Grece2021 Komitee – 200 Jahre nach der Revolution.