ANTONIO BIONI

(1698-1741)

Issipile

DRAMA PER MUSICA IN TRE ATTI

Libretto: PIETRO METASTASIO

26.09.2021-17.10.2021

WROCŁAW-SZCZECIN

In cooperation with the Opera at the Castle in Szczecin and the OP ENHEIM Foundation in Wroclaw.

With the support of the Polish Ministry of Culture and Media and the company "Kaufhaus Görlitz", the first performance in modern times of the only existing opera by the Venetian composer Antonio Bioni (1698-1741) could succeed. The composer of the Opera of  Wroclaw during the times of the Habsburg rule in Silesia wrote 24 operas for this theater, almost all of which have been lost. 

We could find one of them in the archive of the Society of Friends of Music in Vienna and create an edition of the score. In partnership with the Opera in the Castle in Szczecin and with the participation of the Lusatian Baroque Ensemble, this opera could now be recorded (OP ENHEIM in Wroclaw beginning of October 2021) and filmed in the impressive ambience of Willa Lentza in Szczecin (14-17 October 2021).

ONLINE PREMIERE OCTOBER 24, 2021, AT 8:00 PM

The Opera at the Castle in Szczecin invites you to an online spectacle!

There is a fee to access the performance, but you can choose between PLN 10 (€ 2), € 20 (€ 4.5) or PLN 50 (€ 11).

 

The baroque opera "Issipile" was composed in 1732 by Antonio Bioni - an Italian composer and singer who worked in Silesia and the Czech Republic. The libretto is by Pietro Metastasio - an Italian writer, librettist and poet at the Viennese court.

The composer spent part of his life in Wroclaw, where he created many works, including "Issipile". His work and artistic achievements fell into oblivion for several centuries. The premiere of the opera is an attempt to revive a valuable and unique cultural heritage and introduce the work of the Venetian composer to the Polish audience.

 

The plot of the opera is based on Greek mythology and takes place on the ancient island of Limnos. Issipile, the king's daughter, discovers a conspiracy plotted by the wives of the royal soldiers. Jealous, insulted and scorned, the women plan revenge and murder their husbands during the Bacchanal - a festival in honor of the god Bacchus. Issipile destroys these plans and saves her father's life, but that is not the end of the heroine's tragic fate.

Bioni's composition is a compelling story modeled on Greek dramas about love, vengeance, betrayal and pirates. The opera's beautiful libretto was often set to music by contemporary composers such as Scarlatti, Hasse and Gluck.

 

Antonio Bioni was a key figure in the development of baroque music in Wroclaw. After an impressive singing career in Venice, he was hired as a composer for the up-and-coming opera group in Prague. The team was extremely successful and expanded its activities in Wroclaw. In the years 1725-1734 Antonio Bioni was conductor of the Italian opera group in Breslau, for which he composed and staged 25 operas. Among the singers he worked with were the most famous musicians of the time, who also sang for operas by Vivaldi, Scarlatti or Handel. Although Bioni was one of the most important personalities of baroque music in Poland, none of the scores of his numerous operas composed in Wroclaw have survived. Now one of them has been able to be re-staged since its premiere almost 300 years ago.

 

The sound recording was carried out from September 29th to October 2nd, 2021 in OP ENHEIM in Wrocław.

This was followed by the staging as a video project on October 16, 2021 in the Willa Lentz in Stettin.

(from the website of the Opera at the Castle in Stettin)

production

Opera na Zamku w Szczecinie in partnership with Ars-Augusta eV

Director: Piotr Jedrzejas

Costumes: Anna Adamiak

Conductor: Enrique Gómez-Cabrero Fernández

Cast:

ISSIPILE        Merlind Pohl

RODOPE       Georgia Tryfona

EURINOMES     Małgorzata Przybysz

LEARCO       Roberto Jachini Virgili

GIASONE     Jakub Borowczyk

TOANTE      Jakub Borgiel

The Lusatian baroque ensemble

Baroque violin: Helmut Riebl, Christophe  Mourault, Mateusz Janus, Katarzyna Cendlak

Viola: Karolina Janik, Dominika Garncarz

Baroque cello: Szczepan Dembiński

Double bass: Marcin Bajon

Theorbo: Maria Wilgos

Harpsichord: Adam Piotr Rorat

The team

Sponsors
00_Logo_wersja_podstawowaRGBprzezroczysta.png
Instytucja kultury.png
Logo_MKDNiS_kolorowe_.jpg

Dofinansowano ze środków Ministra Kultury, Dziedzictwa Narodowego i Sportu w ramach programu Narodowego Centrum Kultury Kultura - Interwencje 2021 

Co-financed by the Minister of Culture, National Heritage and Sport under the Program of the National Center for Culture Kultura - Interwencje 2021

logo nck (1).jpg
onz-logo-color-de-vertikal.png
BMW_DLR_PION_2L_SZARY_BONKOWSCY.png
OP ENHEIM-pozytyw-rgb.png
kAUFHAUS lOGO.jpeg
nowe logo ARS AUGUSTA_final.jpg
P_Willa_Lentza_LOGO_CMYK_vector_Orange_on_White.jpg

ANTONIO BIONI

(1698-1741)

Issipile

DRAMA PER MUSICA IN TRE ATTI

Libretto: PIETRO METASTASIO

26.09.2021-17.10.2021

WROCŁAW-SZCZECIN

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Oper am Schloss in Stettin und die Stiftung OP ENHEIM in Wroclaw.

Mit der Förderung des Polnischen Ministeriums für Kultur und Medien sowie das Unternehmen "Kaufhaus Görlitz" wurde die Ertaufführung in modernen Zeiten der einzigen existierenden Oper des Venezianer Kompositen Antonio Bioni (1698-1741) gelungen. Der Hofkomponist der Breslauer Oper in den Zeiten der Habsburger Herrschaft in Schlesien, hat für dieses Theater 24 Opern geschrieben, wovon fast alles verschollen  wurde. 

Der Fund im Archiv der Gesellschaft der Freunde der Musik in Wien führte zu der Edition der Partitur. In Partnerschaft mit der Oper im Schloss in Stettin und mit Mitwirkung des Lausitzer Barockensembles wird nun diese Oper aufgenommen (Breslau, Ende September) und in dem beeindruckendem Ambiente der Willa Lentza in Stettin verfilmt. 

ONLINE PREMIERE 24.OKTOBER 2021, UM 20:00 UHR

Die Oper am Schloss in Stettin lädt zu einem Online-Spektakel ein!

Der Zugang zur Vorstellung ist gebührenpflichtig, Sie haben jedoch die Wahl zwischen 10 (2€), 20 (4,5€) oder 50 PLN (11€).

 

Die Barockoper "Issipile" wurde 1732 von Antonio Bioni komponiert - einem italienischen Komponisten und Sänger, der in Schlesien und Tschechien tätig war. Das Libretto stammt von Pietro Metastasio - einem italienischen Schriftsteller, Librettisten und Dichter am Wiener Hof.

Der Komponist verbrachte einen Teil seines Lebens in Breslau, wo er viele Werke schuf, darunter "Issipile". Sein Werk und seine künstlerischen Leistungen gerieten für mehrere Jahrhunderte in Vergessenheit. Die Uraufführung der Oper ist ein Versuch, ein wertvolles und einzigartiges Kulturerbe wiederzubeleben und das Werk des venezianischen Komponisten dem polnischen Publikum vorzustellen.

 

Die Handlung der Oper basiert auf der griechischen Mythologie und spielt auf der antiken Insel Limnos. Issipile, die Tochter des Königs, entdeckt eine Verschwörung, die von den Ehefrauen der königlichen Soldaten geplant wurde. Eifersüchtig, beleidigt und verschmäht planen die Frauen Rache und ermorden ihre Männer während dem Bacchanal - einem Fest zu Ehren des Gottes Bacchus. Issipile zerstört diese Pläne und rettet das Leben ihres Vaters, aber das ist nicht das Ende des tragischen Schicksals der Heldin.

Bionis Komposition ist eine fesselnde Geschichte nach dem Vorbild griechischer Dramen über Liebe, Rache, Verrat und Piraten. Das schöne Libretto der Oper wurde gerne von zeitgenössischen Komponisten wie Scarlatti, Hasse oder Gluck vertont.

 

Antonio Bioni war eine Schlüsselfigur in der Entwicklung der Barockmusik in Breslau. Nach einer beeindruckenden Gesangskarriere in Venedig wurde er als Komponist für die aufstrebende Operngruppe in Prag engagiert. Das Team war äußerst erfolgreich und weitete seine Aktivitäten in Breslau aus. In den Jahren 1725-1734 war Antonio Bioni Kapellmeister der italienischen Operngruppe in Breslau, für die er 25 Opern komponierte und inszenierte. Unter den Sängern, mit denen er zusammenarbeitete, waren die berühmtesten MusikerInnen der Zeit, die auch für Opern von Vivaldi, Scarlatti oder Händel sangen. Obwohl Bioni eine der bedeutendsten Persönlichkeiten der Barockmusik in Polen war, ist keine Partitur seiner zahlreichen in Breslau komponierten Opern erhalten geblieben. Nun konnte eine davon, seit ihrer Uraufführung vor fast 300 Jahren neu inszeniert werden.

 

Die Tonaufnahme wurde vom 29. September bis 2. Oktober 2021 in OP ENHEIM in Wrocław durchgeführt.

Im Anschluss daran erfolgte die Inszenierung als Videoprojekz wurde am 16. Oktober 2021 in der Willa Lentz in Stettin gemacht.

(aus der Website der Oper am Schloss in Stettin)

Produktion

Opera na Zamku w Szczecinie in Partnerschaft mit Ars-Augusta e.V.

Regie: Piotr Jedrzejas

Kostüme: Anna Adamiak

Dirigent: Enrique Gómez-Cabrero Fernández

Besetzung:

ISSIPILE            Merlind Pohl

RODOPE         Georgia Tryfona

EURINOME     Małgorzata Przybysz

LEARCO          Roberto Jachini Virgili

GIASONE       Jakub Borowczyk

TOANTE         Jakub Borgiel

Das Lausitzer Barockensemble

Barock-Violine: Helmut Riebl, Christophe  Mourault, Mateusz Janus, Katarzyna Cendlak

Bratsche: Karolina Janik, Dominika Garncarz

Barockcello: Szczepan Dembiński

Kontrabass: Marcin Bajon

Theorbe: Maria Wilgos

Cembalo: Adam Piotr Rorat

Das Team

Förderer
00_Logo_wersja_podstawowaRGBprzezroczysta.png
Instytucja kultury.png
Logo_MKDNiS_kolorowe_.jpg

Dofinansowano ze środków Ministra Kultury, Dziedzictwa Narodowego i Sportu w ramach programu Narodowego Centrum Kultury Kultura - Interwencje 2021 

Co-financed by the Minister of Culture, National Heritage and Sport under the Programme of the National Centre for Culture Kultura - Interwencje 2021

logo nck (1).jpg
onz-logo-color-de-vertikal.png
BMW_DLR_PION_2L_SZARY_BONKOWSCY.png
OP ENHEIM-pozytyw-rgb.png
kAUFHAUS lOGO.jpeg
nowe logo ARS AUGUSTA_final.jpg
P_Willa_Lentza_LOGO_CMYK_vector_Orange_on_White.jpg